Major Events in 2018

“Bye to Phi” Senior Salute

May 5, 2018

Every year the chapter holds an event to congratulate the graduating seniors of Phi Eta Sigma. The event is called “Goodbye to Phi”. This special events allows members to include their family members to celebrate their accomplishment and view what their students have contributed to the chapter. At the event each senior receives their cords and shares where they are heading after graduation. Many of our seniors have exciting plans for graduate school while others are beginning their professional careers.


Phi Eta Sigma 2017 New Members’ Induction Ceremony

March 3, 2018

Kennesaw State University Chapter’s New Members’ Induction Ceremony was held on March 3. 2018. More than half of the 319 new student inductees gathered at Prillaman Hall and were joined by five outstanding university faculty and campus leaders who were inducted as Honorary Members: First-Year and Transition Studies professors Theodore Bullard, Danelle Dyckhoff-Stelzriede, and Tyler Pede; Communication Professor Jan Phillips; and Mechanical Engineering Professor Richard Kennedy.

Dr. Debbie Smith, a past Phi Eta Sigma chapter advisor, welcomed the new inductee class and praised them for achieving an excellent GPA in their first year of college. Dr. Smith then presented KSU alumnae Emily Winslette, who has distinguished herself for having attended every Phi Eta Sigma Induction Ceremony since her own induction as a member in 2010.  Emily, a past chapter vice-president and the KSU chapter’s first ever Founders’ Fund Scholarship awardee, encouraged new members to take advantage of opportunities Phi Eta Sigma offers for leadership and lasting friendships. Emily then introduced the invited guest speaker, Dr. Lynn Disbrow, Dean of University College. Dean Disbrow’s message was punctuated with classical allusions of the hero’s journey and hope that PES members would realize success on their academic, personal, and professional journeys. The initiation ceremony was conducted by the chapter executive board: Alyssa Baird (president), Will Davis (vice-president); Shantyl Neely (Kennesaw campus secretary) (Alexandria Smejkal (Marietta campus secretary), Keyaira Singleton (Marietta campus events coordinator); and Heather Morrison (Kennesaw campus events coordinator).  Chapter Advisor, Professor Kathy Matthews, thanked the officers for their support and generous service to Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society. Following the program, the newly inducted members were honored in a reception.

Congratulations to our new members. Welcome to Phi Eta Sigma. You were selected to join this prestigious organization based on the things you’ve accomplished. Keep up the great work and stay focused. Don’t forget to be involved! Now that you’ve joined, come to our meetings! Participate in a service project! Make a lifelong friend or two. We have so much to offer to our members and we are excited that you decided to be a part of it!